Exploring Regret

Regret is an odd emotion because it comes only upon reflection. Regret lacks immediacy, and so its power seldom influences events when it could do some good.     

William O’Rourke

leftovers-shot-vodka-knife-on-260nw-755596474

Regret is a strong word we get to explore today.   Most successful people have them, and seem to let them go.  They are useless when you live forward, with goals and visions strong.

I’ll admit, I’ve retained a few regrets about moving to Colorado I had, and some regrets closing out my time here.

 

Consistency.  Had I just stuck out my time at Public Storage, more good things in the career world would have possibly opened up for me.  Another thing though, is I would have stayed in a cycle of debt, with paying for my car, insurance and so on.  Whereas with the move to Denver,  I’ve had no car payments or insurance to keep up on.

I do regret not having a chance to really dive deeper into the local culture here in Denver.  With being so busy getting to work, learning the job, and working – didn’t really  have time to go downtown.  I could occasionally, it just wasn’t what it had been when I was in Seattle every other night.

Another regret I’m sitting on but finally releasing , was acting out of fear, and taking action without due diligence.  I think I will take blame with the due diligence part, as I was simply not in the strongest financial position to move yet again.  I have been working harder than ever to make sure I never land into a situation like that where I don’t have the financial resources to make the decision that best serves me.

In the overall picture, Denver was a positive. It gave me some new skills, some new confidence, and most importantly, some new adventure.  It was not a cakewalk however.  No sir, it was quite a difficult few months this winter getting settled. (Or rather, what I considered to be getting settled.) Here I am now, 4 months later unsettling to go back to my home state.  I walked an average of 80 miles a month just getting to and fro where I needed.  Seattle honestly didn’t have what I needed at the time I needed it. And, now it appears it does.  The tarot looks positive, things lined up fairly quick, and I found Tiberius a great new home.  The main reget it seems, is that I didn’t really take the time or effort to really explore the area.  I’ll be back in about 4 days!

 

 

Thanks for reading, and stay tuned!

Leave a comment